Media updates

Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games to welcome 30 equestrian nations

12 January 2018
Media updates
12 January 2018 Author: SGI

Equestrian athletes from 11 National Olympic Committees will make their Youth Olympic Games (YOG) debut when they head to Buenos Aires (ARG) this October for the 2018 YOG.

Riders from Bolivia, Haiti, Hungary, Honduras, Iraq, Jordan, Mauritius, Mexico, Uzbekistan, Venezuela and Zambia will join athletes from 19 other nations in the Argentinian capital, showcasing the next generation of equestrian talent as they compete in the largest multi-sport youth event in the world.

Overall, 30 nations have qualified from around the globe and will participate in the Jumping competitions, the sole discipline representing equestrian and one of the 32 sports on the programme at this third edition of the summer Youth Olympic Games, which are held every four years.

The Youth Olympic Games (YOG), which were launched in Singapore 2010, were created to reach out to young athletes worldwide, inspiring young people to take part in sport and adopt and live by the Olympic values. The 2018 YOG will bring together almost 4,000 talented young athletes aged from 15 to 18 from 206 countries around the world for a 12-day period.

“The Youth Olympic Games are an incredible opportunity to inspire a whole new generation of athletes”, FEI President Ingmar De Vos said. “The universality, appeal, consistent growth and reach amongst young people worldwide are key elements of focus for us at the FEI.”

“Our global network of National Federations are heavily invested in promoting our sport at grassroots and elite level, broadening its accessibility, and it is evident with the cross section of qualified nations for these Games, and those nations competing for the first time, that the continual development of youth engagement in equestrian sport has given us a phenomenal boost internationally. We will undoubtedly see world class performances and youth sport at its best in Buenos Aires in October.”

The Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games will take place from 6 to 18 October 2018. For more information go to:

Qualified nations: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Egypt, Great Britain, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Nations competing for the first time: Bolivia, Haiti, Hungary, Honduras, Iraq, Jordan, Mauritius, Mexico, Uzbekistan, Venezuela and Zambia.

The full list of qualified Youth Olympic nations and all the information you need to know about the Youth Olympic Games, can be viewed here

You can find us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to view our Athlete Role Models and share using hashtags #BuenosAires2018 #YouthOlympics @FEI_global