

SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

Session 7, FEI Dressage Judging Working Group Findings

Dressage Judging Working Group update

During the Sports Forum session, the Dressage Judging Working Group will give an update on their findings and give further details on the following points:

JSP - review the job description of the JSP - Article 438

It is proposed that the JSP should in the future act as supporting panel to advise the DC regarding all judging issues. The new proposed role of this panel will be outlined.

7 Judges - review article 437.2

The recommendation is to maintain the current use of 7-member Juries for specific higher-level Championships

Judges dashboard reporting

The Dashboard is in place for Dressage Judges since July 2017, with positive feedback from the users.

Code of Points - Judging system

The Dressage Judging Working Group has tasked a sub-group (COPPSAG*) to come up with a proposal of Code of Points for a determined number of movements of the Grand Prix Test. This Code of Points addresses many aspects of the Dressage Judging and contributes to ensuring more clarity, fairness and openness in the system.

Richard Davison, Dressage Rider and member of the Dressage Judging Working Group will present a summary of the **research** he has conducted into the cognitive demands of judging.

In short, the study reveals that, among other things, for optimal performance Judges need:

- a) A standard reference (Code of Points)
- b) Standardised visual search routines
- c) Realistic and sustainable cognitive processing demands (judging being a first visual then mental task)
- d) An objective system for review of judge performance and system

Richard's research also brought up the effects of sustainability, jet lag, nutrition, hydration etc., the impact of which on the judges' cognitive process had not yet been considered.

The Members of the Dressage Judging working group representatives are: Frank Kemperman, Maribel Alonso, Kyra Kyrklund, Richard Davison and David Stickland.

*The Members of the COPPSAG group are Stephen Clarke, Linda Keenan, Uwe Mechelen, Wayne Shannon, Katrina Wüst and Anky van Grunsven.