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FAQ Judging Narrow Fences 2020 

 

Extract of the rules: Rule 549.2 Run out - missing a flag 

a) Clear (0 penalties): A horse is considered to have cleared the fence when the head, 

neck and points of both shoulders pass between the extremities of the obstacle as 

flagged. If a flag is dislodged, the hindquarters must jump the height of the solid part 

of the obstacle. 

EXPLANATION: If the head, neck and point of shoulder of the horse are inside the 

extremities of the obstacle as flagged and the hindquarters jump the solid height,  but 

one or more legs of the horse or rider knocks the flag this is clear (no penalties)  

Clear jumping everything inside the flags: 
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b) Missing a flag (15 penalties): A horse is considered to have missed a flag when 

the point of a shoulder fails to pass between the extremities of the obstacle as flagged. 

The head and neck must pass inside the extremities of the obstacle as flagged. If a flag 

is dislodged, the hindquarters must jump the height of the solid part of the obstacle  

EXPLANATION: Both the back and front of the horse (not legs) jump the full height of 

the obstacle but not fully inside the jump as originally flagged then they get 15 penalties 

for missing a flag. If the head and neck of the horse were outside the jump as flagged 

this would be a run out (if the rider represented) or elimination (if the rider rode on).  

The pictures below shows the head and neck inside but one point of shoulder outside 

the extremities of the obstacle as flagged. The hindquarters jump the height of the solid 

part of the obstacle. This combination must be penalised with 15 penalties:   
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c) Run-Out (20 penalties): A Horse is considered to have run out if, having been 

presented at an obstacle on the course, it avoids it in such a way that the head, neck 

and point of either shoulder fail to pass between the extremities of the obstacle as 

flagged or the hindquarters have not jumped the height of the solid part of the obstacle. 

Continuing on course without representing will incur elimination.  

EXPLANATION: If the head, neck of the horse fails to jump fence as flagged or the 

hindquarters fail to jump the solid height of the obstacle, this is a run out (20 penalties). 

If they do not represent, they are eliminated. Legs are excluded.  

The picture below clearly shows the head, neck and shoulder of the horse not passing 

the extremities of the obstacle as originally flagged and the hindquarters failing to jump 

the solid height. 20 penalties for a refusal or elimination if they ride on.   
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CORRECT JUDGING & CAMERA POSITION 

Correct judging & camera position - Clear view of both flags in their original 

position 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Incorrect judging & camera position – no clear view of both flags or of the flag 

bending from its original position 

 

Incorrect judging & camera position – Judging & camera from behind, incorrect 

position as you cannot see the full horse going thru the flags in the original position 
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POSITIONING FENCE JUDGES:  

Judging missing a flag correctly is an important for the competitors. It falls on the TD 
to ensure that whatever camera is used it is in the correct position. One good way to 

do this is when the TD walks the course with the GJ that they mark the correct camera 
position with spray paint so it is clear on XC day.  

 
POSITION OF JUDGE AT CORNERS: 
If there are two flags on one side, the ideal position (far enough away from the fence 

so not to disturb the horse) is from where you see both flags as one. 
 

FENCES JUMPED AT AN ANGLE: 
For fences meant to be jumped at an angle the camera position needs to be moved so 
that it views the horse head on as it is expected to jump the obstacle. 

 
VIDEOING EVERY HORSE: 

Every smartphone or tablet now has video function and most of fences judges will have 
them. The TD should ensure that the jump judge or their assistant videos every horse 
jumping a skinny fence from the correct angle described above. It is a split second 

decision as to whether a horse jumped a skinny correctly. Having good evidence will 
assist the jump judge, TD, and GJ greatly to decide if there is a penalty or not, as they 

can look at it frame by frame. 
 
If the phone has capacity all short videos should be kept until the end of the competition 

in case there are any queries/protests. If there is not enough memory on the phone, 
then just keep the videos where there was any doubt and ask the TD to come and view 

them immediately. 
 
Athletes should have the possibility to request to review their official video during an 

Event with the Ground Jury. 
 

If the Event Organising Committee wants to make the official videos public with an 
explanation from the Ground Jury, it is possible for educational purposes. 
 

 
 

 

Frequently asked question FEI Eventing Committee’s answer 

Q: Could a combination be penalized with 

15pts several times on the course?  

A: Yes, that is correct as long as the 

horse clearly attempted to jump the 

fence 

Q: If a combination jumps a fence 

between the flags (clear) and the athlete 

thinks out of flags (20 pts) and repeats 

fence, is it an elimination for jumping a 

fence twice?  

A: This combination would not be 

eliminated or penalised with 20 penalties 

as the first attempt was clear but no time 

penalties would be removed. 
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Q: Does the athlete still have the 

possibility to ask the fence judge if the 

horse jumped the fence between the 

flags? 

A: The possibility for the athlete to ask 

the fence judge has been removed 

because they will not have time to review 

the video. 

Q: How will it be judged if the horse is 

scored clear the first time, is represented 

and runs out on representation? 

A: The combination would get time 

penalties only as the first attempt 

counts. No penalties for second 

disobedience at a fence already judged 

as jumped clear.  

Q: If a combination jumps fence between 

the flags (clear) and the athlete thinks 

out of flags (20 pts) , repeats fence and 

breaks a frangible device on 2nd attempt, 

will the combination be penalised with 11 

penalty points? 

A:A: This combination would neither be 

penalised with 15 penalties nor 11 

penalties as the first attempt counts but 

no time would be removed from the final 

time. 

Q: If an Athlete thinks out of flag (20 

pts) and represents, but the fence judge 

scores clear at first attempt, would the 

Athlete be penalised with 15 or 20 

points? 

A:A: The combination would not be 

penalised with 15 or 20 points as the first 

attempt counts but no time would be 

removed to the final time.  


