FEI Presidency: Meet the Candidates session

12 Dec 2014
12 Dec 2014 Author: RGR

A Meet the Presidential Candidates session, at which each of the five candidates for the FEI Presidency will present their manifestos to National Federations, stakeholders and international media, will be held in Baku (AZE) tomorrow, 13 December.

The Independent Advisory Committee, set up by the FEI Bureau in September 2014 to preserve the integrity of the election process, conducted a draw this evening to determine the order of the candidates’ presentations.

The running order for the Meet the Presidential Candidates session is as follows:

1. Pierre Durand (FRA)

2. John McEwen (GBR)

3. Ingmar De Vos (BEL)

4. Pierre Genecand (SUI)

5. Ulf Helgstrand (DEN)

Each candidate will be given 15 minutes for tomorrow’s individual presentations during the first part of the Meet the Presidential Candidates session, which will run from 14.15 - 16.00 AZT (local Azerbaijan time, GMT + 4 hours) at the Fairmont Hotel Conference Centre. The session will be moderated by Richard Nicoll (USA).

The candidates’ presentations will be followed by a Question and Answer session from 16.15-18.00. Both parts of the session will be broadcast live and free of charge on FEI TV, the FEI’s official online video platform.

The election of the new FEI President will take place during the FEI General Assembly on Sunday 14 December. The General Assembly starts at 09.00 AZT.

FEI Photo Catalogue: Images for editorial purposes are available for free download at

Notes to Editors:

Independent Advisory Committee

The Independent Advisory Committee was established under Article 36.1 of the FEI Statutes and oversees the election process and all related matters. The temporary committee is composed of:

- The FEI President, HRH Princess Haya

- The Chair of the Equestrian Community Integrity Unit, Lord Stevens

- The former Chair of the FEI Tribunal, Ken Lalo

- The Chair of the FEI Audit and Compliance Unit, Brian Mangan

Current FEI President, HRH Princess Haya

HRH Princess Haya was elected as FEI President in 2006 in the first contested election for the FEI Presidency, and was re-elected in 2010 in the first contested election involving a serving President. On 12 August 2014, Princess Haya announced she would not stand for a third term as FEI President - see statement here. For more information on HRH Princess Haya, please visit:

FEI Presidential election 2014

A total of five candidates are standing for election to the position of FEI President. The candidates, in order of receipt of the candidacy files by the FEI, are: Pierre Genecand (SUI), Ulf Helgstrand (DEN), John McEwen (GBR), Pierre Durand (FRA) and Ingmar De Vos (BEL). A sixth candidate, Javier Revuelta del Peral (ESP), withdrew his bid for the Presidency in November.

FEI Presidential term

The FEI Presidential term was previously unlimited until the FEI Statutes were changed in 2007 to limit it to two terms of four years. The FEI Statutes were further amended in April 2014 to extend the term of office to three consecutive four-year terms.

Past FEI Presidents

Biographies of past FEI Presidents can be viewed here.

FEI General Assembly 2014 press kit can be viewed here