FEI Classics™  

You are here

Photo Caption: Michael Jung (GER) & La Biosthetique - Sam FBW (© FEI / Richard Juilliart)

Following the Eventing Committee’s proposal and FEI Bureau’s approval in June 2017, the FEI Classics™ Eventing is suspended as of 2018 for further review to integrate the new event classification and to allow redefinition of a series concept. 

The FEI Classics™ was a series uniting the top end of the international Eventing circuit, namely the six four-star Eventing competitions currently on the calendar.

Final Standings after six Event are published  here


1.12 - 16 October 2016Les 4 Etoiles de Pau (FRA)
2.3-6 November 2016Australian International 3 Day Event, Adelaide (AUS)
3.27-30 April 2017Rolex Kentucky Three Day Event (USA)
4.3-7 May 2017Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials (GBR)
5.15-18 June 2017Luhmuhlen CCI**** presented by DHL (GER)
6.31 August - 3 September 2017Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials (GBR)


Prize Money
At the end of each season, the three athletes with the highest number of points collected among the FEI Classics™ events (Pau, Adelaide, Lexington, Badminton, Luhmühlen, Burghley) will be awarded prize money as follows: 
1stUS$ 40,000 (Series Champion)
2ndUS$ 30,000
3rdUS$ 20,000


Points will be awarded to the top 25 % of starters at each event (as per prize-money principles and regular Eventing ranking rules) as follows :
1.15 points6.5 points
2.12 points7.4 points
3.10 points8.3 points
4.8 points9.2 points
5.6 points10.1 points
  • Riders will earn points with their best single performance at each event (rider must have achieved a Minimum Eligibility Result at the event).
  • In case of equality of points, points accumulated over fewer events will determine a better placing than points gained over more events.
  • If there is still equality of placing from points awarded at a single event, the best placed rider is the competitor whose placing is achieved in the event with the most starters.
  • If there is still equality of placing in the case of riders awarded points in several events, the rider whose points have been accumulated from the events with the highest collective number of starters will be the best placed rider.

* If there is still a tie, the best placed rider is the competitor with the lowest total of penalty points at the specific event (=differentiating score); if a rider is awarded points in several events, the best score will count as differential.

Press Service

To subscribe to a comprehensive press service including previews, competition reports and updated standings covering the series and events, click here.

Online Photo Catalogue
Free images for editorial purposes are available from the FEI Flickr Account in the photostream and in the dedicated albums for all of the FEI’s key series and events.There is no reproduction fee, but please credit photographer (full name) & FEI (credit will appear under each photo). Usage is strictly for editorial purposes.


Previous Winners of the Classics Series
2017Michael Jung (GER)
2016Michael Jung (GER)
2015Ingrid Klimke (GER)
2014William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
2013Andrew Nicholson (NZL)
2012William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
2011Mary King (GBR)
2010William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
2009Oliver Townend (GBR)
2008William Fox-Pitt (GBR)



latest press news See all news

Unanimous support for re-election of Ingmar De Vos as FEI President

20 Nov 2018

Ingmar De Vos was today re-elected unopposed as President of the FEI at the General Assembly in Manama (BRN), where he pledged to build on the success of his first term in office. The Belgian native received unanimous support for a second four-year...

Read More

Subscribe to the news feed